Little Girl

Poetry is not my strong point.  I was never really introduced to poetry that I liked and therefore always kind of shied away from it.  So you can imagine my surprise when reading the macabre poems by Sylvia Plath and Anne Sexton, that I actually liked them.  I was surprised for two reasons: 1) I am not a  fan of poetry and 2) I would never expect myself to like reading the dark words referencing one’s suicide.  And while it wasn’t so much the topics of their poetry that fascinated me, it was the way they wrote.  In Anne Sexton’s poem “Little Girl”, she writes about her pregnancy in detail and gives such a beautiful account of her belly, with child. Granted, this poem is not morbid but I thought it was creative and I really enjoyed reading it.  Everything flowed so nicely, and while she was depressed and suicidal she deeply cared for her unborn daughter (aw).  Who knew poetry could actually be fun to read…

One Response to Little Girl

  1. Gary Hink says:

    Good to hear! Hence the “survey” of our readings, why I try to offer a variety of authors.

    More important insight here, as I’ve been saying about attention to “poetics” past 3 weeks: “not so much the topics but the way they wrote.” This is what we want to take, by “Analogy” (remember our CATTt), from our poets…

Leave a comment